The Cheese Train. Next stop: Pays-d'Enhaut

A journey to the heart of Swiss tradition

Image description 25

The Cheese Train is the perfect experience for food lovers in search of authenticity.

Travelling in first class from Montreux or Zweisimmen to Château-d'OEx, you'll arrive at Restaurant Le Chalet to watch a demonstration of traditional cheese making skills, followed by the pleasure of eating their delicious fondue. After that, you will discover Swiss arts and crafts at the Musée du Pays-d'Enhaut.

 

SCHEDULE 

10:30   Welcome to Montreux station on platform 5
10:44   Departure from Montreux
11:45   Arrival in Château-d’Œx
12:00   Artisan cheese making demonstration at Restaurant Le Chalet
12:30   Lunch (fondue)
14:00   Visit the Espace Ballon
15:13   Departure from Château-d’Œx*
*Possibility to take another MOB train for the return journey. One train per hour.

 

 

 

DEMONSTRATION OF ARTISAN CHEESE MAKING

The Restaurant Le Chalet makes its own cheese, "Le Chalet Bio". Dressed in traditional costume, the cheesemaker transforms about 200 litres of organic milk into a hard cheese right in front of your eyes. You can lend a hand in this truly authentic process that takes place over an open wood fire, just like in the alpine chalets. The freshly produced cheese can be tasted at the end of the demonstration.

RESTAURANT LE CHALET

Warm, cosy and thoroughly typical, Le Chalet welcomes you into its rustic setting. An excellent organic cheese fondue will be waiting for you there. And there's the opportunity to buy delicious local products and regional souvenirs in their boutique. Upstairs, there's a model of our trains and the landscape they travel through that will appeal to young and old.

ESPACE BALLON

The Espace Ballon, Mecca of hot air balloon, invite you to a journey from the very first days in history to the greatest performances of our days. The first balloon flight around the world with Brian Jones and Bertrand Piccard and more to be discovered in tremendous surroundings. Sky’s the limit and heaven can’t wait... to meet you there...

Train du fromage. Prochain arrêt: le Pays-d’Enhaut

Une incursion au cœur des traditions suisses

Image description 25

 

Le Train du Fromage vous emmènera sur la voie des traditions suisses de Montreux à Château-d'OEx

Après un voyage en 1re classe de Montreux ou Zweisimmen à Château-d'OEx, vous assisterez à une démonstration de fabrication artisanale de fromage au restaurant Le Chalet. Vous y dégusterez une succulente fondue, puis vous découvrirez les traditions de l'art suisse au Musée du Pays-d'Enhaut.

 

HORAIRE

10:30   Accueil en gare de Montreux sur voie 5
10:44   Départ de Montreux en voiture 1ère classe
11:45   Arrivée à Château-d’Œx
12:00   Démonstration de la fabrication artisanale de fromage au restaurant Le Chalet
12:30   Repas (fondue)
14:00   Visite de l’Espace Ballon
15:13   Départ de Château-d’Œx*
*Possibilité de prendre un autre train MOB pour le voyage de retour. Un train par heure.

 

 

 

DÉMONSTRATION DE FABRICATION ARTISANALE DE FROMAGE

Le restaurant Le Chalet fabrique son propre fromage, «Le Chalet Bio». En costume traditionnel et devant vos yeux, le fromager transforme quelque 200 litres de lait bio en fromage à pâte dure. Vous pourrez aussi participer à cette authentique activité effectuée au feu de bois, comme dans les chalets d'alpage, et déguster le fromage en fin de fabrication.

RESTAURANT LE CHALET

Chaleureux, accueillant et typique, Le Chalet vous reçoit dans un cadre rustique. Une excellente fondue au fromage bio vous y attendra. Vous aurez la possibilité d'acquérir d'excellents produits locaux ou souvenirs de la région dans leur boutique. A l'étage, une maquette reproduisant nos trains et nos paysages saura passionner petits et grands.

ESPACE BALLON

L’Espace Ballon, haut-lieu de la montgolfière, vous propose un parcours didactique depuis son histoire jusqu’aux grands exploits contemporains. Le tour du monde sans escale de Brian Jones et Bertrand Piccard et encore beaucoup est à découvrir dans un cadre exceptionnel. Au plaisir de vous y retrouver pour vivre l’aventure...