icon_attach icon_calendar icon_campaign icon_close icon_doc icon_document icon_eat icon_files icon_group icon_hiking icon_hour icon_image icon_label LIVE icon_loadingicon_lodgingicon_main-click icon_nature icon_ski icon_smileys icon_speaker icon_sport icon_train icon_video icon_warning arrow flag sun thunder rain night actualite_1 roll boussole inscription Map
Mois
Jours
Heures
Minutes
Secondes
Get the full documentation

Goldenpass Express, a long story

Come aboard the GoldenPass Express and take part in an exceptional journey of 3:15 hours from Montreux Riviera to the majestic peaks of the Bernese Alps and through the Pays-d’Enhaut.

A direct connection between Interlaken, Gstaad and Montreux that has been waited for over a hundred years.
A unique technology with variable gauges.
A modern train with three classes (Prestige, 1st and 2nd) and different service levels.
Group offers that can be adapted to suit your needs.

MONTREUX - GSTAAD - INTERLAKEN

Experience

Information
Journey

The GoldenPass Express will run unchanged from Montreux to Interlaken from 11 December 2022 with a single trip in each direction. It will be expanded to four round trips per day from 11 June 2023.

The GoldenPass Express stopping in:

  • Montreux
  • Montbovon
  • Château-d’Oex
  • Gstaad
  • Schönried
  • Saanenmöser
  • Zweisimmen
  • Boltigen
  • Erlenbach
  • Oey-Diemtigen
  • Wimmis
  • Spiez
  • Interlaken West
  • Interlaken Ost

The GoldenPass Express runs through three cantons: Vaud, Fribourg et Bern.

 

 

The journey between Montreux and Interlaken covers 115.34 km, of which 62.43 km on metric gauge (Montreux – Zweisimmen) and 52.91 km on standard gauge (Zweisimmen – Interlaken).

Travel classes

Each GoldenPass Express train offers 2nd class, 1st class and Prestige class. The Prestige class is characterised by its very comfortable, heated seats which enable the passenger to face in the direction of travel at all times. The Prestige area is raised by 40 centimetres to allow the passengers to be fully immersed in the landscape. The passenger feels like sitting in the landscape. All seats offer a panoramic view.

Timetable

The journey time (Montreux – Interlaken) is approximately 3 hours 15 minutes.

Main stops:


Indicative timetables subject to change

Prices

Seat reservations are mandatory in the Prestige class and highly recommended in 1st and 2nd class.
Swiss Travel Pass, Half-Fare travelcards, day tickets and GA travelcards are valid; seat reservation not included
* Seat reservation of CHF 35.00 included

Booking

Bookings for the GoldenPass Express will be available this autumn.

Subscribe to the newsletter to be informed when the sale opens!

Gastronomie

A dining offer with local products can be booked online in advance in 1st class and Prestige class. Snacks and drinks are available on board in all classes. The full offer will be available here soon.

Subscribe to the newsletter to stay informed!

About the Project

Information
History

The idea of linking Lake Geneva, Gstaad and the lakes of Thun and Brienz dates back to 1873. Since back then the idea was to connect three of the country’s economic centres by opening up the mountain regions. The railway network got built but with different gauge widths: metric gauge (1 m) between Montreux and Zweisimmen and standard gauge (1.435 m) between Zweisimmen and Interlaken. The project was rekindled several times. In 1924, the Goldenpass Association was founded. In the 1930s, the idea was to install a third rail. As a result of numerous technical and financial challenges, the project never came to fruition. The fatal blow came in 2006 since due to various factors making it impossible to cross Spiez station without an underground track. The explosing costs brought the project of the third rail to an end. In 2008, MOB relaunched the project. Since it was not possible to modify the tracks, it was decided that the coaches would be adapted instead. Thanks to variable gauge bogies and a gauge adapting ramp, the train can travel seamlessly from one gauge with to another. The dream is becoming reality.

 

Technology

How is it possible to switch the train from metre gauge to standard gauge?

Thanks to the gauge ramp at Zweisimmen station, the bogie can be widened, allowing the train to switch from metric track (1 m) to standard track (1 m 435) and vice versa. The carriage also rises, thus adapting to the platform (55 cm on normal track, 35 cm on metric track).

 

 

Design

The Goldenpass Express stands out for its aesthetics. All the GoldenPass Express coaches were manufactured by Stadler Rail in Bussnang (Thurgau). The nose of the train, which gives it its look, was designed by the Italian designer PininFarina. Innova Design designed the interior and some of the exterior fittings.

Click here to see the train with 3D images made by Stadler. The interior design is the work of Innova Design.

 

Media

Download the press kit

Click on the following button to receive the complete GoldenPass Express documentation.

icon_attach icon_calendar icon_campaign icon_close icon_doc icon_document icon_eat icon_files icon_group icon_hiking icon_hour icon_image icon_label LIVE icon_loadingicon_lodgingicon_main-click icon_nature icon_ski icon_smileys icon_speaker icon_sport icon_train icon_video icon_warning arrow flag sun thunder rain night actualite_1 roll boussole inscription Map
Mois
Jours
Heures
Minutes
Secondes
Laden Sie die Dokumentation

Der Goldenpass Express, eine lange Geschichte

Steigen Sie ein in den GoldenPass Express und erleben Sie in 3 Stunden und 15 Minuten eine einzigartige Reise von der Waadtländer Riviera über das Pays-d’Enhaut bis hin zu den spektakulären Gipfeln der Berner Alpen.

Eine seit über 100 Jahren erwartete Reise ohne Umsteigen zwischen Interlaken, Gstaad und Montreux.
Eine einzigartige Technologie durch Drehgestelle mit variabler Spurweite.
Ein moderner Zug mit drei Klassen (Prestige, 1. und 2. Klasse) und verschiedenen Serviceleistungen.
Angebote für Gruppen, die je nach Bedarf angepasst werden können.

MONTREUX - GSTAAD - INTERLAKEN

Erlebnis

Informationen
Strecke

Der GoldenPass Express wird ab dem 11. Dezember 2022 Montreux und Interlaken ohne Umsteigen mit einer einfachen Fahrt in jede Richtung verbinden. Er wird ab dem 11. Juni 2023 auf vier Hin- und Rückfahrten pro Tag erhöht.

Haltestellen des GoldenPass Express:

  • Montreux
  • Montbovon
  • Château-d’Oex
  • Gstaad
  • Schönried
  • Saanenmöser
  • Zweisimmen
  • Boltigen
  • Erlenbach
  • Oey-Diemtigen
  • Wimmis
  • Spiez
  • Interlaken West
  • Interlaken Ost

Der GoldenPass Express durchquert drei Kantone: Waadt, Freiburg und Bern.

 

 

Die Entfernung zwischen Montreux und Interlaken beträgt 115,34 km. 62,43 km auf der Meterspur (Montreux – Zweisimmen) und 52,91 km auf der Normalspur (Zweisimmen – Interlaken).

Reiseklassen

Jeder Zug des GoldenPass Express bietet eine 2. Klasse, eine 1. Klasse und eine PrestigeKlasse. Die Prestige-Klasse zeichnet sich durch höchst bequeme Sitze aus, die beheizt sind und dank denen man immer in Fahrtrichtung reist. Zudem ist das Prestige-Abteil um 40 Zentimeter erhöht, sodass die Reisenden noch mehr in die Umgebung eintauchen können. So bekommen sie das Gefühl, als sässen sie mitten in der Landschaft. Alle Plätze bieten einen Panoramablick.

Fahrplan

Die Fahrt (Montreux – Interlaken) dauert rund 3 Stunden und 15 Minuten.

Wichtigste Haltestellen:


Richtfahrpläne ; Änderungen vorbehalten

Preise

Sitzplatzreservation in der Prestige-Klasse obligatorisch und empfohlen in der 1. und 2. Klasse.
Swiss Travel Pass, Halbtax, Tageskarten und GA gültig; Sitzplatzreservation nicht inbegriffen
* Sitzplatzreservation CHF 35.– inbegriffen

Reservierung

Reservationen für den GoldenPass Express werden ab diesem Herbst möglich sein.

Melden Sie sich für den Newsletter an, um über den Verkaufsstart informiert zu werden!

Gastronomie

Ein Verpflegungsangebot mit lokalen Produkten ist auf Voranmeldung online in der 1. Klasse und in der Prestige-Klasse verfügbar. Snacks und Getränke werden in allen Klassen direkt an Bord angeboten. Das detaillierte Angebot wird bald hier verfügbar sein.

Melden Sie sich für den Newsletter an, um auf dem Laufenden zu bleiben!

Das Projekt

Informationen
Geschichte

Die Idee, den Genfersee, Gstaad sowie den Thuner- und den Brienzersee miteinander zu verbinden, reicht bis ins Jahr 1873 zurück. Das Ziel lautet bereits damals, drei Wirtschaftszentren des Landes zu vereinen und diese Bergregionen besser anzubinden. Die Gleise werden schliesslich mit unterschiedlichen Spurweiten gebaut: Meterspur (1 m) zwischen Montreux und Zweisimmen und Normalspur (1,435 m) zwischen Zweisimmen und Interlaken. Das Projekt wird mehrmals wieder aufgegriffen. 1924 entsteht die Interessengemeinschaft GoldenPass. In den 1930er-Jahren erwägt man den Bau einer dritten Schiene. Aufgrund zahlreicher technischer und finanzieller Hindernisse wird dieses Projekt jedoch nie verwirklicht. Den Todesstoss erhält es 2006. Aufgrund der spezifischen Anforderungen von Meter- und Normalspur ist die Durchquerung des Bahnhofs Spiez ohne ein unterirdisches Gleis nicht möglich. Die Kosten explodieren, das Projekt wird abgebrochen. 2008 startet die MOB einen neuen Versuch. Wenn sich die Gleise nicht verändern lassen, muss sich eben das Rollmaterial anpassen. Dank des Drehgestells mit variabler Spurweite und einer Umspuranlage wechselt der Zug ohne weiteres von einer Spur zur anderen. Der Traum kann endlich wahr werden.

 

Technologie

Wie ist der Zug von der Meterspur auf die Normalspur umgespurt?

Dank der Spurweitenrampe im Bahnhof Zweisimmen spreizt sich das Drehgestell, sodass der Zug von Meterspur (1 M.) auf Normalspur (1 M. 435) und umgekehrt wechseln kann. Der Wagen hebt sich ebenfalls an und passt sich so dem Bahnsteig an (55 cm auf Normalspur, 35 cm auf Meterspur).

 

 

Design

Alle Wagen des GoldenPass Express wurden von Stadler Rail in Bussnang (Thurgau) hergestellt. Die charakteristische Zugnase wurde vom italienischen Designstudio Pininfarina entworfen. Die Innenausstattung und einige Aussenelemente stammen von Innova Design .

Klicken Sie hier, um den Zug mit den von Stadler erstellten 3D-Bildern zu sehen. Das Innendesign stammt von Innova Design.

 

Medien

Download der Pressemappe

Klicken Sie auf die folgende Button, um die vollständige GoldenPass Express-Dokumentation zu erhalten.