icon_attach icon_calendar icon_campaign icon_close icon_doc icon_document icon_eat icon_files icon_group icon_hiking icon_hour icon_image icon_label LIVE icon_loadingicon_lodgingicon_main-click icon_nature icon_ski icon_smileys icon_speaker icon_sport icon_train icon_video icon_warning arrow flag sun thunder rain night actualite_1 roll boussole inscription Map
Mois
Jours
Heures
Minutes
Secondes
Get the full documentation

Goldenpass Express, a long story

Come aboard the GoldenPass Express and take part in an exceptional journey of 3:15 hours from Montreux Riviera to the majestic peaks of the Bernese Alps and through the Pays-d’Enhaut.

A direct connection between Interlaken, Gstaad and Montreux that has been waited for over a hundred years.
A unique technology with variable gauges.
A modern train with three classes (Prestige, 1st and 2nd) and different service levels.
Group offers that can be adapted to suit your needs.

MONTREUX - GSTAAD - INTERLAKEN

Experience

Information
Journey

The GoldenPass Express will run unchanged from Montreux to Interlaken from 11 December 2022 with a single trip in each direction. It will be expanded to four round trips per day from 11 June 2023.

The GoldenPass Express stopping in:

  • Montreux
  • Montbovon
  • Château-d’Oex
  • Gstaad
  • Schönried
  • Saanenmöser
  • Zweisimmen
  • Boltigen
  • Erlenbach
  • Oey-Diemtigen
  • Wimmis
  • Spiez
  • Interlaken West
  • Interlaken Ost

The GoldenPass Express runs through three cantons: Vaud, Fribourg et Bern.

 

 

The journey between Montreux and Interlaken covers 115.34 km, of which 62.43 km on metric gauge (Montreux – Zweisimmen) and 52.91 km on standard gauge (Zweisimmen – Interlaken).

Travel classes

Each GoldenPass Express train offers 2nd class, 1st class and Prestige class. The Prestige class is characterised by its very comfortable, heated seats which enable the passenger to face in the direction of travel at all times. The Prestige area is raised by 40 centimetres to allow the passengers to be fully immersed in the landscape. The passenger feels like sitting in the landscape. All seats offer a panoramic view.

Timetable

The journey time (Montreux – Interlaken) is approximately 3 hours 15 minutes.

Main stops:


Indicative timetables subject to change

Prices

Seat reservations are mandatory in the Prestige class and highly recommended in 1st and 2nd class.
Swiss Travel Pass, Half-Fare travelcards, day tickets and GA travelcards are valid; seat reservation not included
* Seat reservation of CHF 35.00 included

Booking

Bookings for the GoldenPass Express will be available this autumn.

Subscribe to the newsletter to be informed when the sale opens!

Gastronomie

A dining offer with local products can be booked online in advance in 1st class and Prestige class. Snacks and drinks are available on board in all classes. The full offer will be available here soon.

Subscribe to the newsletter to stay informed!

About the Project

Information
History

The idea of linking Lake Geneva, Gstaad and the lakes of Thun and Brienz dates back to 1873. Since back then the idea was to connect three of the country’s economic centres by opening up the mountain regions. The railway network got built but with different gauge widths: metric gauge (1 m) between Montreux and Zweisimmen and standard gauge (1.435 m) between Zweisimmen and Interlaken. The project was rekindled several times. In 1924, the Goldenpass Association was founded. In the 1930s, the idea was to install a third rail. As a result of numerous technical and financial challenges, the project never came to fruition. The fatal blow came in 2006 since due to various factors making it impossible to cross Spiez station without an underground track. The explosing costs brought the project of the third rail to an end. In 2008, MOB relaunched the project. Since it was not possible to modify the tracks, it was decided that the coaches would be adapted instead. Thanks to variable gauge bogies and a gauge adapting ramp, the train can travel seamlessly from one gauge with to another. The dream is becoming reality.

 

Technology

How is it possible to switch the train from metre gauge to standard gauge?

Thanks to the gauge ramp at Zweisimmen station, the bogie can be widened, allowing the train to switch from metric track (1 m) to standard track (1 m 435) and vice versa. The carriage also rises, thus adapting to the platform (55 cm on normal track, 35 cm on metric track).

 

 

Design

The Goldenpass Express stands out for its aesthetics. All the GoldenPass Express coaches were manufactured by Stadler Rail in Bussnang (Thurgau). The nose of the train, which gives it its look, was designed by the Italian designer PininFarina. Innova Design designed the interior and some of the exterior fittings.

Click here to see the train with 3D images made by Stadler. The interior design is the work of Innova Design.

 

Media

Download the press kit

Click on the following button to receive the complete GoldenPass Express documentation.

icon_attach icon_calendar icon_campaign icon_close icon_doc icon_document icon_eat icon_files icon_group icon_hiking icon_hour icon_image icon_label LIVE icon_loadingicon_lodgingicon_main-click icon_nature icon_ski icon_smileys icon_speaker icon_sport icon_train icon_video icon_warning arrow flag sun thunder rain night actualite_1 roll boussole inscription Map
Mois
Jours
Heures
Minutes
Secondes
Télécharger la documentation

Le rêve des pionniers se réalise

Embarquez à bord du GoldenPass Express et prenez part à un voyage exceptionnel de 3h15 de la Riviera vaudoises aux sommets majestueux des Alpes bernoises en passant par le Pays-d’Enhaut.

Un voyage sans changement entre Interlaken, Gstaad et Montreux, attendu depuis plus de 100 ans
Une technologie unique avec des bogies à écartement variable.
Un train moderne avec trois classes (Prestige, 1ère et 2ème) et différents niveaux de service.
Des offres pour les groupes adaptables selon les besoins.

MONTREUX - GSTAAD - INTERLAKEN

Expérience

Informations
Parcours

Le GoldenPass Express reliera sans changement Montreux à Interlaken dès le 11 décembre 2022 avec un aller simple dans chaque direction. Il montera en puissance dès le 11 juin 2023 avec quatre allers-retours par jour.

Les arrêts du GoldenPass Express :

  • Montreux
  • Montbovon
  • Château-d’Oex
  • Gstaad
  • Schönried
  • Saanenmöser
  • Zweisimmen
  • Boltigen
  • Erlenbach
  • Oey-Diemtigen
  • Wimmis
  • Spiez
  • Interlaken West
  • Interlaken Ost

Le GoldenPass Express traverse trois cantons : Vaud, Fribourg et Berne.

 

 

La distance entre Montreux et Interlaken est de 115,34 km. 62,43 km en voie métrique (Montreux – Zweisimmen) et 52,91 km en voie normale (Zweisimmen – Interlaken).

Classes de voyage

Chaque train du GoldenPass Express propose une 2e classe, une 1e classe, ainsi qu’une classe Prestige. La classe Prestige se caractérise par des sièges de grand confort, chauffant et permettant de toujours être dans le sens de la marche. L’espace Prestige est également réhaussé de 40 centimètres, afin de permettre une plus grande immersion du voyageur dans le paysage. Le voyageur se trouve comme assis dans le paysage. A noter que toutes les places offrent une vue panoramique.

Horaires

La durée du trajet (Montreux – Interlaken) est de 3 h 15 environ.

Voici les horaires des arrêts principaux :


Horaires indicatifs sous réserve de modification.

Tarifs

Réservation de place obligatoire en classe Prestige et recommandée en 1re et en 2e classe
Swiss Travel Pass, demi-tarif, cartes journalières et AG valables ; réservation en sus
* Réservation de place CHF 35.– incluse

Réservation

Les réservations à bord du GoldenPass Express seront disponibles cet automne.

Inscrivez-vous à la newsletter pour être informé de l’ouverture de la vente !

Gastronomie

Une offre axée sur les produits du terroir sera proposée sur réservation préalable en classe Prestige et en 1ère classe. Des snacks et boissons seront disponibles directement à bord. L’offre détaillée sera disponible prochainement ici.

Inscrivez-vous à la newsletter pour être informé !

Le Projet

Informations
Histoire

L’idée de relier le lac Léman, Gstaad et les lacs de Thoune et de Brienz remonte à 1873. Il s’agit déjà, à l’époque, d’unir trois pôles économiques du pays et désenclaver ces régions de montagnes. Les voies sont finalement construites avec des écartements différents: métrique (1 m) entre Montreux et Zweisimmen et normale (1,435 m) entre Zweisimmen et Interlaken. Le projet ressurgit à plusieurs reprises. En 1924, l’association Goldenpass est créée. Dans les années 1930, on songe à installer un troisième rail. Sujet à de nombreux obstacles, techniques et financiers, le projet ne se réalisera jamais. Le coup fatal lui est porté en 2006. En raison des contingences cumulées des voies métrique et normale, la traversée de la gare de Spiez s’avère en effet impossible sans une voie sous-terraine. Les coûts explosent, le projet trépasse. En 2008, le MOB relance le projet. S’il n’est pas possible de modifier les voies, c’est le matériel roulant qui va s’adapter. Grâce au bogie à écartement variable et à une rampe d’écartement, le train passe sans autre d’une voie à l’autre. Le rêve va pouvoir devenir réalité.

 

Technologie

Comment le passage du train de la voie métrique à la voie normale est-il possible ?

Grâce à la rampe d’écartement en gare de Zweisimmen, le bogie s’écarte, permettant au convoi de passer de la voie métrique (1 m) à la voie normale (1 m 435) et inversement. La voiture s’élève également, s’adaptant ainsi au quai (55 cm sur la voie normale, 35 cm sur la voie métrique).

 

 

Design

Le Goldenpass Express se démarque par son esthétisme. Le MOB a confié le design extérieur aux prestigieux ateliers PininFarina. La société Innova Design a conçu le design intérieur et certains éléments extérieurs. Toutes les voitures ont été fabriquées par Stadler Rail, à Bussnang.

Cliquez ici pour découvrir le train avec les images 3D réalisées par Stadler. Le design intérieur est l’œuvre d’Innova Design.

 

Média

Télécharger le dossier de presse

Cliquez sur le bouton ci-dessous pour recevoir la documentation complète du GoldenPass Express.